Industry News

FDA Enters Rulemaking to Update the Definition of “Healthy”

On September 29, 2022, FDA published a proposed rule to update the definition for the implied nutrient content claim “healthy” consistent with current nutrition science and FDA dietary guidance. The proposed rule requires, in addition to nutrient limits (saturated fat, sodium, and added sugars), that food products contain a certain amount of food from at least one of the food groups or subgroups recommended by the Dietary Guidelines, 2020-2025 to be labeled “healthy”. For example, a cereal would need to contain ¾ ounce of whole grains and contain no more than 1 gram of saturated fat, 230 milligrams of sodium and 2.5 grams of added sugars. Comments on the rule are due to FDA by 11:59 pm Eastern on December 28, 2022. For a copy of the rule visit: Food Labeling: Nutrient Content Claims: Definition of Term “Healthy”

FDA will hold a webinar on the rule on Friday, October 21, 2022, at 10:00 am Pacific Time, 11:00 am Mountain Time, 1:00 pm Eastern Time. For more information or to register for the webinar visit: https://www.fda.gov/food/cfsan-constituent-updates/fda-host-webinar-discuss-proposed-changes-definition-healthy

 

Tukwila’s Continental Mills changes name to The Krusteaz Company

Tukwila-based Continental Mills, which has a manufacturing facility in Kent, will change its name to The Krusteaz Company in honor of its flagship brand and the 90th anniversary of the brand. Read the full article in the Kent Reporter here

 

USDA Grant Support for Agricultural Employers addresses Labor Shortages

The Farm Service Agency (FSA) of USDA is hosting listening sessions for public input on a farm labor stabilization and protection pilot grant program. Up to $65 million in American Rescue Plan Act funding will be available to provide support for agricultural employers. This program is focused on improving the resiliency of the food and agricultural supply chain by addressing current labor shortages in agriculture, reducing irregular migration through increased use of legal pathways, and improving labor protections for farmworkers. FSA will hold a session for input from employer organizations on September 28, 2022, at 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST). For information on the program, including the specific questions FSA has for employer organizations, and to register for the online session see www.fsa.usda.gov/farmworkers FSA will also accept written comments through late October, see Federal Register Notice.

 

Food Northwest hires Food Policy Intern

TMTaylor Murray will be joining Food Northwest as a Food Policy Intern on September 26, 2022, and will be with us until the end of May 2023. Ms. Murray is a senior at Oregon State University pursuing a double degree in Environmental Economics & Policy and Environmental Science. She will provide support to the work of the Operations & Technical Affairs Committee as well as the regulatory, policy, and legislative efforts of Food Northwest. This internship will give Ms. Murray hands on experience that complements her academic and professional goals.

 

Good news out of Idaho for Food Processors

Idaho Land Board approves $23 million for CAFE research dairy farm

Labels only required for detectable biotech genes, judge says

Idaho Water Board spends ARPA funds on raising dam, recharge projects

(links via Capital Press)

 
<< first < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > last >>

Page 4 of 10